Ceremony 2008

Award Ceremony

April 15, 2008: Forum Hall hosted the Sixth Annual National IT Leader Prize Award Ceremony which traditionally involved businesses and public institutions representing key industries of the Russian economy and brought together CIOs who actively implemented information technology. More than 500 representatives from the IT industry attended the event.

The Expert Council (comprised of directors from leading global IT vendors and consulting companies in Russia, as well as representatives from reputable mass media) voted to select the IT Leader Prize winners. 28 organizations and CIOs (in 21 regular and 7 special nominations) were awarded the IT Leader Prize for the implementation of prominent IT projects and the advancement of cutting-edge information technology that increases business efficiency and spurs development across the nation.

Compliance of voting with an approved expert survey methodology is monitored by KPMG, IT Leader Prize Independent Observer. Key selection criteria for IT Leader Prize winners are: innovative activities by organizations and their CIOs, outstanding IT achievements, CIO's unique personal and professional characteristics and his/her contribution to the development of the business, the industry, and the Russian nation in general.

IT Leader Prize winners were businesses and public institutions representing key industries of the Russian economy: VTB 24 Bank, URSA Bank, Rosno Insurance Company, Renaissance Capital Investment Company, Norilsk Nickel Mining and Metallurgical Company, Magnitogorsk Iron and Steel Works, Rosneft Oil Company, Volga TGK (Regional Power Generating Company), Yandex, VimpelCom, Moscow Metro, PhosAgro, Severstal Auto, Saturn Scientific Production Association, Wimm-Bill-Dann, X5 Retail Group N.V., Mirax Group Corporation, Atomenergoprom, Irkut Scientific Production Corporation, Metalloinvest Management Company, the Seventh Continent Retail Chain, OGK 4 (the Fourth Power Generating Company of the Wholesale Electricity Market), Aeroflot, MTS, Central Election Commission of the Russian Federation and Federal Center of Information Technologies under the CEC of the Russian Federation, Main Computer Center at the Federal Agency for Culture and Cinematography, Ministry of Industry and Energy of the Russian Federation, and Main Computer Center at Roshydromet (Federal Agency for Hydrometeorology and Environmental Monitoring).

Every year, the Organizing Committee endeavors to make the Prize more public and transparent. The establishment of the Prize Advisory Council in 2007 was an important move. The Advisory Council includes the directors of Russia's largest CIO clubs in Moscow, Saint-Petersburg, and Ekaterinburg and provides advisory assistance to the Expert Council in clearing up complicated matters of procedure.

The IT Leader Prize Organizing Committee includes the Russian Managers Association, CROC Incorporated, and Itogi, Intelligent Enterprise and CIO Magazines. IT Leader Prize Partners are: IBM, Microsoft, EMC, Sun Microsystems, Avaya, Nortel, Polycom, APC-MGE, and WestCall. Award Ceremony Partners are: HP, BMC Software, and General Motors, which presented a SAAB automobile to guests. For the third year in a row, PRP Group has been Public Coordinator of the Prize responsible for IT Leader Prize reputation maintenance and coordination of all interaction within the project. IT Leader Prize Information Partners: Algorithm Information Agency, Banking Technologies and Director of Information Service Magazines, RBC TV and Third TV Channel.